This contact has blocked You.

I'm giving out blocks like Oprah, You get a block, You get a block, You get a block

Presented by Riverside

Every once in a while I run across a feature that just blows my mind!! Riverside has officially added a feature that allows you to make AI clips, automatically. Literally, you don’t do any editing. All you have to do is push a button and it creates the clips for you. Sign up now to learn how Riverside can help your podcast publish high-quality clips on social media.

Hi Friends!

As creators that heavily rely on social media, we’re constantly being told who we should be following and how we can grow our following, but I’d like to take a moment to tell you who you should be BLOCKING.

Granted, there aren’t many instances in which I’d tell you to block someone, but there are quite a few instances when blocking people has had a net positive impact for me.

I’m going to share three instances when blocking people could do wonders for your professional career and your self-care.

Number 1 - You Playing games

Two years ago, I knew I wanted to start creating content online. So naturally I started following people online that taught people how to start creating content.

I had about 3-4 people whose content I was consuming back then but my go-to guy was Gary Vee.

I’d watch his content in the morning, afternoon, and evening before bed. I wanted to be a creator so badly that I thought by over-consuming their content I was being empowered with the info I need.

One day, I was watching his video and he said “Stop watching this video right now and just go do it!” That’s when it hit me…. I was a BS’er! I had no intention of starting to create content.. I just enjoyed the idea of being a creator.

I thought I needed more information but the truth is I had everything I needed to start but I was afraid. So I blocked everyone whose content I was consuming at the time and told myself I could unblock them when I had posted 25 TikTok videos.

Number 2 - People you compare yourself too

I’ll be honest, sometimes… fine a lot of times I can be insecure about my content.

At the beginning of my Creator journey when I saw Creators that were in my niche or were doing better than me I instantly got discouraged..

These were normally larger Creators that were already semi-successful and instead of looking at them as proof that what I want to do is possible, it just made me feel like there was no space for me.

So… I blocked them. This isn’t the only solution for this challenge but this is the one that worked for me. After a few weeks, I totally forgot they even existed.

I eventually unblocked them and several collaboration opportunities have come about since then but that was exactly what I needed early in my Creator Journey.

When you first start creating content, your only goal should be to remove anything that will hinder your ability to publish content.

This also applies to established creators. I was hanging out with a Creator that is about twice my size and he subtly mentioned that he had blocked another Creator that was really big because he didn’t want to feel like he was stealing his ideas or being swayed by what he talks about.

I find that I create the best content when it feels like I have blinders on.

Number 3 - People that make you feel small

This may be the most challenging because this group of people is normally family and friends.

When we become Creators the people that have followed us from “Before our Creator days” sometimes don’t support our new journey. This may manifest itself as passive-aggressive comments like:

“Why do you keep posting that” or “Why do you talk about that” or “You post too much content”

Sometimes it can be hard to know when you should block someone… In fact, I recently blocked someone and the moment I hit the button I instantly felt a weight lifted off of my shoulders.

Sometimes I’m in such a people-pleaser mode that I forget, this is my social media account 🤣 I could do whatever the heck I want to do. If people don’t like it, I help them out by blocking them.

Look, I hope you take a moment to think about who the heck you need block to level up!

✅ Updates:

Elon is retiring the Twitter brand and renaming it to X. Buddy stay changing stuff 🤷‍♂️ 

Black Podcast Awards are coming up and you can submit your podcast. Use code WINLG23 to get $5 off each category you apply for.

TikTok now has text posts, they will be competing with Threads and Twitter.